Life is a Ship

Life is a ship that sails. It begins off the docks at your first moments of life, and moves forward with no map. For the first few years, there seems to be no ship, and no sea. One may feel lost and confused, and merely at the mercy of others. But it is in fact true that we sail along, at first, unaware of anything, and anyone. Our destiny is primarily determined by our initial experiences, through the captains of our ship, our parents.

Through powerful winds of change, and numerous storms, our parents teach us how to navigate, so we hope; how to manage, and cope. It is their experiences that we trust. No choice, we tell ourselves, we must. Then we learn of the patterns, and we learn of random events that shake everything around us, and bring discord.

We try to seek for ways to bring stability, to read a map with superb ability. To bring about a passage, to bring an end to fragility. It is I that learned to captain this ship, it is I that knows the meaning of hardship. I sought my parents for help find my way. Soon I realized, their path was routed to this route, to this day. I was the result of my experience, my parents’ intuition and their lack of experience.

I am in awe. Of what’s gone thus far, Sometimes I wish I foresaw. But it wouldn’t be life, would it? …If we already knew the draw.

So we sail along, and sail along. It doesn’t really matter if we’re right or wrong. The experience is the destination, and the rest remains in our imagination. Because, life is a ship that sails. Love the sea, love the ship, and you won’t fail.

Leave a Reply

